20 February 2021, 8 p.m.
CONCERT ONLINE from Witold Lutosławski Concert Studio of Polish Radio, Warsaw

Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra’s French horn quartet – Horn Tastic:
Joanna Wydmuch, Edyta Chmielewska, Natalia Kawecka, Anna Baran
Hornet Quartet:
Gabriel Czopka, Michał Szczerba, Łukasz Łacny, Piotr Kowalski
Mikhail Bachyla | trumpet
Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Marek Wroniszewski | conductor

Heinrich Hübler – Konzertstück for four horns
Robert Schumann – Konzertstück for four horns, op. 86
Alexander Arutiunian – Trumpet Concerto

kolaż zdjęć przedstawiający artystów występujących podczas koncertu 30.01.2021
Marek Wroniszewski – photo Piotr Banasik; Hornet Quartet – photo  Marcin Radzikowski; Mikhail Bachyla – photo Mariya Malashka; HornTastic Quartet – photo Maja Dereń-Błazik

The programme of the concert includes radiant and splendorous sounds of brass instruments. From the 18th century, French horns have been an essential part of orchestras. Initially there used to be two French horns in an orchestra and later the number was increased up to four of them. Such beautifully sounding “choir” inspired two Romantic composers to create pieces for four horns and an orchestra. In his brilliant Konzertstück op. 86, Robert Schumann was one of the first composers to showcase broad technical possibilities of a relatively new structure of a valve horn, which considerably extended standard features of “natural” instruments. Heinrich Hübler, a French horn virtuoso slightly younger than Schumann, participated in one of the concerts where the piece was performed (in the composer’s presence), which inspired him to create his own composition for the  same group of instruments, highlighting the triumphant sound of four horns even more.

Trumpeters on all continents fondly remember the Armenian composer Alexander Arutiunian, author of numerous classicizing compositions of different genres, ofter referring to national motifs. One of the pieces that has earnt a particularly stable position in the repertoire, although slightly forgotten outside his mother country, is the Trumpet Concerto (1950), with a brilliant solo part. Both compositions for French horns will be performed by two different horn quartets, one of them composed entirely of the musicians from our orchestra, and the second one formed of artists who normally work in other ensembles, but who cooperate with us from time to time. Mikhail Bachyla, performer of the solo part in Arutiunian’s concerto, is also a member of Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra. The concert will be conducted by Marek Wroniszewski, one of the most valued conductors of his generation, considered to be the best Polish participant of the 10th G. Fitelberg International Competition in Katowice in 2017, presently acting as Deputy Director of the Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra. [pmac]

Organizer: Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra 
Media patronage: TVP Kultura,

The organiser reserves the right to change the programme or the performers of the concert.