Rossini | Lipiński | Fauré | Tchaikovsky

29 February 2020, 7:00 p.m.
Royal Castle in Warsaw

Konstanty Andrzej Kulka | violin
The Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Maciej Tomasiewicz | conductor

Gioacchino Rossini – Overture to the opera L’Italiana in Algeri
Karol Lipiński – Rondeau de Concert in C Major op. 18
Karol Lipiński – Variations on a theme by Gioacchino Rossini from the opera La Cenerentola op. 10
Gabriel Fauré – Pavane op. 50
Pyotr Tchaikovsky – Serenade for String Orchestra in C Major op. 48

phot. M. Grynberg

Karol Lipiński was one of the foremost luminaries of Polish Romantic music and among the greatest virtuosos of his era. He was perceived as a competitor of Paganini, and there were those who praised his playing and talents as a composer in even more superlative terms. Long associated with Lviv and later with Dresden, he also toured very successfully throughout the continent. History, however, has not been kind to him; even in his homeland, his works are still played too rarely (also because few violinists are able to handle their complexity). This only increases the value of this opportunity to listen to two of his compositions performed by a truly legendary violinist, one of the most outstanding musicians of his generation, Konstanty Andrzej Kulka. He will perform works that were particularly appreciated by 19th-century virtuosos: Rondeau de Concert in C Major and an operatic paraphrase, presented here as a variation (which considerably increases the technical challenge) – on motifs from the opera La Cenerentola (Cinderella) by Rossini. The creativity of this opera master will recall the brilliant and witty overture to L’Italiana in Algeri. The second half of the concert will be filled with the expressiveness and cheer of Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Serenade in C Major, a piece that showcases a surprisingly rich palette of colours and shades from the string ensemble. The French neo-romanticist Gabriel Fauré, whose subtle harmonic and colour sensitivity paved the way for a generation of modernists, is now remembered for only a few works, including the incredibly popular and moving Requiem as well as the subtle, reflective, captivating euphonium Pavane. Originally for the piano and later arranged for orchestra, both the title and character of this piece refer to the stately court dance of the Renaissance and early Baroque period; he was one of the first to initiate the trend toward historicising stylisations in the music of the late 19th and 20th centuries. It is also interesting to note that there is another variation of this work featuring a choir.
Conductor Maciej Tomasiewicz is associated with the Archetti Chamber Orchestra with which he previously collaborated as a violinist and which he has conducted since 2014. He is also active as a conductor of youth orchestras who have achieved successes during competitions and festivals under his leadership. He is the conductor of the Polish Youth Symphony Orchestra in Bytom and has led concerts by many famous ensembles in Poland and abroad. He was recently awarded the position of Assistant Conductor – Artistic Director of the National Philharmonic.

Tickets: bilety24, eBilet