17 December 2022, 7 p.m.
Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio, Warsaw


First part

Łukasz Długosz | flute
Piotr Baron | tenor saxophone
Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Marek Wroniszewski | conductor

Adam Wesołowski
Archangels. Concerto for flute, tenor saxophone and symphony orchestra PREMIERE


Second part

Cracow Golden Quintet:
Natalia Jarząbek | flute
Kamil Kuc | oboe
Tomasz Sowa | clarinet
Małgorzata Wygoda | bassoon
Konrad Gołda | French horn
Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Marek Wroniszewski | conductor

Szymon Godziemba-Trytek
Imaginarium for Woodwind Quintet and Orchestra PREMIERE

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symfonia koncertująca Es-dur na instrumenty dęte KV 297b


Piotr Krasnowolski | host

Łukasz Długosz – photo Artist’s archive; Piotr Baron – photo Magdalena Adamczewska, Cracow Golden Quintet – photo Magdalena Hałas, Marek Wroniszewski – photo Piotr Banasik


The first part of the concert will feature the premiere performance of Adam Wesołowski’s Archangels concerto for flute, tenor saxophone and symphony orchestra – the first such ensemble in the history of music. The piece will demonstrate new sound possibilities offered by solo instruments and the orchestra not only by exploring new ways of sound extraction (articulation), but also through the introduction of intermittent “angelic chants” performed by the instrumentalists simultaneously with the instrumental part. The premiere will be given by two outstanding artists: the solo tenor saxophone part will be performed by Piotr Baron, the Director of the Orchestra, and the solo flute part by Łukasz Długosz. Both of them are well known to the public for their numerous creative and well-received achievements.

Adam Wesołowski is a composer, conductor, pianist, music theorist and culture manager. A graduate of the Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music in Katowice, he studied composition under Edward Bogusławski and Aleksander Lasoń and piano under Wojciech Świtała, music theory being another area of his interest. He is the Director of the Silesian Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, as well as the Director of the Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki International Festival. His works have been performed at many venerable concert venues, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the National Forum of Music in Wrocław and the Teatr Wielki Polish National Opera in Warsaw.

Szymon Godziemba-Trytek’s Imaginarium is composed for woodwind quintet and orchestra. The composer has elected to remove woodwind instruments from the orchestra, which directly results in contrasting tone colours between the sections he uses and positioning them in opposition to each other. The title suggest an imaginary, unreal state. The composition evolves into a game of appearances between the real and the unreal. It is formed by two parts. In the first part, the composer relies on a progressive, causal model of time organisation, while the second part emerges as an emanation of a non-processual and non-progressive approach to time management. The two-part structure allows the two distinct spatial philosophies behind the work to be juxtaposed and confronted. This process becomes an allegory for the passage from the real to the unreal. The author of the premiere work is a graduate of the Feliks Nowowiejski Academy of Music in Bydgoszcz, where he currently serves as the Dean of the Faculty of Composition, Theory of Music and Sound Engineering. He received his doctoral degree from the Frédéric Chopin University of Music in Warsaw. Szymon Godziemba-Trytek is a laureate of acclaimed international competitions and a winner of prizes and distinctions, his works enjoying popularity and recognition among publishers and performers in many countries.

Mozart’s mysterious Sinfonia Concertante in E-Flat Major, composed in 1778 for the famous Parisian “Concert Spirituel” series, is also intended for wind instruments. “Mysterious” because it was not performed at the time (nota bene, the young artist’s trip to France as a whole was beset with misfortunes and not particularly successful), and the manuscript was lost. It is disputed to this day whether the copy unearthed almost a century later was of the original work and whether Mozart was indeed the author. Be that as it may, this graceful symphony is very popular as one of the rare works composed for such an impressive-sounding ensemble that provides four soloists with an opportunity to show off their virtuosity.

The works forming the second part of the concert will feature members of the highly regarded and award-winning Cracow Golden Quintet. The ensemble is made up of graduates of Polish Academies of Music, including soloists, members of symphony orchestras and chamber groups (two of them, Malgorzata Wygoda and Konrad Golda, are musicians affiliated with the Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra). With its repertoire of both classical and popular music, the quintet lays particular claim to Polish music, especially forgotten works that rarely make it to the stage. In addition, the CGQ participates in premieres and recordings of works from the 20th and 21st centuries.

The concert will be led by Marek Wroniszewski, a conductor considered to be the best Polish participant of the 10th Grzegorz Fitelberg International Competition for Conductors in Katowice, the Deputy Director of the Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra in 2018-2022 and currently its First Guest Conductor.


We would like to inform you kindly that the entrance tickets for free will be available. The all sits are numbered and the number of them is limited.

Please send your applications from November 14 to December 14, 2022 to the following e-mail address: bilety@sinfoniaiuventus.pl, including the number of sits which you are interested in. Everyone will receive confirmation from us that they have been granted a ticket, which will mean the possibility of participating in the concert. The entrance tickets will be issued on the day of the concert, one hour before the start of the event, at the box office of the Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio.

The piece Archangels was co-financed by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sports from the Cultural Promotion Fund under the “Composition Commissions” programme implemented by the Institute of Music and Dance

The piece Imaginarium was co-financed by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sports from the Cultural Promotion Fund under the “Composition Commissions” programme implemented by the Institute of Music and Dance. The piece was commissioned by the Korzkiew Music Association.

Organiser: Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
The organiser reserves the right to change the programme or the performers of the concert

Media patronage: TVP Kultura, Prestopolmic.pl