4 September 2021, 7:30 p.m.
Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio, Warsaw

We would like to kindly inform you that PSIO returns to the concerts with the participation of the audience and resigns from the Internet broadcast of the Inaugural Concert on September 4th, 2021.

Jakub Haufa | violin
Tomasz Strahl | cello
Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Marek Wroniszewski | conductor
Anna Sułkowska-Migoń | conductor’s assistant

Johannes Brahms – Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov – Scheherazade, Op. 35



Jakub Haufa – photo Bartek Barczyk; Tomasz Strahl – photo Andrzej Świetlik;
Marek Wroniszewski – photo Piotr Banasik,



The fairy-tale like, “imagined” Orient has always fascinated Western artists, whilst the publication of successive translations of the masterpiece of Arabic literature (containing tales, legends and anecdotes from various cultural circles of the ancient East) – The Book of One Thousand and One Nights in the 18th and 19th centuries sparkled even a greater interest. Mysterious, fascinating, sensual and sometimes cruel stories were reflected in poetic paraphrases, fine arts and obviously in music, as well. Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, a prominent figure of Russian Neo-Romanticism and a master of orchestral colours and effects, also fell under their spell. His four-movement programmatic orchestral suite Scheherazade composed in 1888, which illustrates selected episodes of the cycle, highlights precisely the colour aspect. The work was a great success and served also in ballet and film adaptations, and to this day is regarded as one of Rimsky’s most popular compositions.

Jakub Haufa and Tomasz Strahl are among the most outstanding Polish virtuosos of their instruments – violin and cello. The former has been the concertmaster of the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra since 2003, while both masters are valued soloists, chamber musicians and teachers, admired on the stages in Poland and many other countries. They will combine their talents in Johannes Brahms’ late masterpiece, the nostalgic, moving and darkly coloured Double Concerto in A minor, his last (of four) pieces in this genre. It was written to express the renewal of his friendship with the great violinist Josef Joachim, which lasted from his youth and was put to various tests. The violinist would perform the composition together with cellist Robert Hausmann under the baton of the composer. The September concert inaugurating the new season – which we all hope will be free of the perturbations experienced in the previous one – will be conducted by Marek Wroniszewski. [pmac]

Concert is co-organized by the National Institute of Music and Dance within the framework of its own program „Conductor – resident” financed from the funds of Minister of Culture, National Heritage and Sport

Tickets: Polskie Radio – Bilety24
, eBilet

During the event the rules determined in the Ordinance of the Council of Ministers related to the establishment of the certain limitations, injunctions and bans due to the conditions of epidemic will be in force as well as their update: Current rules and restrictions.

Media patronage: TVP Kultura,
Organiser: Jerzy Semkow Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra

The organiser reserves the right to change the programme or the performers of the concert