6th Andrzej Nikodemowicz International Festival – Time and Sound

September 30th 2017, 6:00 p.m.
Henryk Wieniawski Philharmonic in Lublin


The Polish Orchestra Sinfonia Iuventus is a frequent guest to important Polish festivals – on 30 September 2017 the ensemble will perform at the Henryk Wieniawski Philharmonic in Lublin as part of the 6th Andrzej Nikodemowicz International Festival – Time and Sound. Andrzej Nikodemowicz was born in 1925 in Lviv, where he lived until 1980, when he decided to move to Lublin. He died in January 2017. Lublin was the place where he worked almost for the last four decades of his life. This has earned him the title of the city’s musical culture „icon”. His artistic style has strongly evolved: starting from the aesthetics of the Post-Romanticism through to the new trends characteristic for the 20th century – he expressed his interest in sonorism, dodecaphony, as well as the aleatoric music developed by Witold Lutosławski – the latter technique is used in the impressive Symphony dating back to 1975. The concert will also feature one of the latest compositions of Dariusz Przybylski – Musica in forma di rosa, which is the author’s tribute to the great director Pier Paolo Pasolini (solo violin will be performed by Patrycja Piekutowska, whose virtuosity provoked the creation of that piece, which was inspired by Pasolini’s less known emotional poetry rather than his films). Another element of the concert will be the immortal Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major. This is an innovative work, which, at the time of its creation, was seen as unconventional. A greater role of the orchestra was an important novelty. This was already a sign of the „symphonic” concerts of the Romantic Era. The virtuoso element, though present, is not dominant – solo instrument parts and orchestra parts are perfectly balanced and based on true partnership. The Concerto will be played by the Korean pianist Soo-Jung Ann, known to the Polish audience from such events as the 15th Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw (2005), who is pursuing a successful career on stages around the world. The concert will be conducted by a respected conductor Zygmunt Rychert.

Patrycja Piekutowska | violin
Soo-Jung Ann | piano
Polish Orchestra Sinfonia Iuventus
Zygmunt Rychert | conductor

Concert Program:
Dariusz Przybylski Musica in forma di rosa. Omaggio a Pasolini for violin and symphony orchestra
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major op. 58
Andrzej Nikodemowicz Symphony for Grand Orchestra

Admission free

Bilety dostępne na:
, w punktach InfoKraków oraz w kasie Filharmonii Krakowskiej