Beethoven |Saint-Saens | Shostakovich

Iuventus is a Latin word denoting youth, and the youth of pupils of music schools combined with their professionalism are the main attributes of the Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra. The May concert refers to the experiences of even younger artists, students of music schools. For them, a performance with a professional orchestra and outstanding conductor – Mirosław Jacek Błaszczyk, in the case of May concert – is a great distinction, as well as a test of their already impressive skills, as shown by the ambitious and interesting repertoire.
The talented violinist Klara Gronet, student of Robert Szreder and the youngest participant and laureate of the International Anton Rubinstein Competition in Düsseldorf will showcase her skills in the superb Violin Concerto in D Major composed by Ludwig van Beethoven. This fascinating work has changed its genre and to date it remains one of the most popular pieces in the repertoire of violinists.
The Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major by Dmitri Shostakovich is one of his pieces inspired by the talent and charisma of Mstislav Rostropovich, who performed it for the first time in 1959, led by the great Yevgeny Mravinsky, evoking admiration for the beauty of music, as well as its great difficulty, making the work accessible only for the greatest of virtuosos. Their ranks include a teenage cellist Gustaw Bafeltowski, who hones his skills under the eye of Marcin Zdunik, and who can boast an impressive list of achievements, competition prizes and concerts. The instrumentalists are students of the Z. Brzewski State Higher School of Music, known to some as the so-called “talent school”, which is a part of the State Music School Complex no. 1 in Warsaw. The harp player Wojciech Trefon hails from S. Moniuszko State Music School Complex in Bielsko-Biała, where he studies under Anna Scheller. He is going to present a charming and masterful work by Camille Saint-Saëns – Morceau de Concert, which is a kind of a miniature harp concerto.

Klara Gronet | violin
Gustaw Bafeltowski | cello
Wojciech Trefon | harp
Polish Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra
Mirosław Jacek Błaszczyk | conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven              Violin Concerto in D Major Op. 61
Camille Saint-Saens                  Morceau de Concert op.154
Dmitri Shostakovich                 I Cello Concerto in E-flat major, Op 107

Tickets available at bilety24eBilet and in the box office of the book store in the Chopin University Press.

We invite you!